The Elections Department performs a wide variety of duties related to Voter Registration and the activities of the County Board of Elections.  It serves as a public resource center by providing information concerning running for office, election results, contact information for elected offficials, candidate lists, and district and precinct maps.  It is also the department where candidates required to file in the County Clerk's Office submit their filing forms to run for elected office.

Voter Registration activities include registering citizens to vote, maintaining the voter registration rolls, processing absentee ballot requests, and working closely with the County Board of Elections to ensure all elections in Fayette County are conducted fairly and produce accurate results. 

The Fayette County Board of Elections is an independent, bipartisan board charged with the overall responsibility of administering the election process in the county.  The four members of the Board of Elections are the County Clerk, the County Sheriff, one Republican Commissioner and one Democratic Commissioner.  The Commissioners are appointed by the State Board of Elections and serve four-year terms.  As Chairman of the Board, the County Clerk is responsible for making sure all election mandates of the Kentucky Constitution and the Kentucky Revised Statutes are upheld.

Click here to view your registration information and sample ballot.

Hours of Operation: Monday-Friday 8:00am - 4:30pm

Contact Information:

Voter Registration 859-255-8683 (859-255-VOTE)
Voter Registration e-mail voters@fayettecountyclerk.com

Board of Elections 859-253-8352, 859-253-8354
Board of Elections e-mail elections@fayettecountyclerk.com

Fax 859-253-8390

The 2024 General Election will be held on November 5, 2024

The voter registration deadline for the General Election will be October 7, 2024 at 4:00pm